

Hrvatsko nacionalno povjerenstvo za svjetske geoparkove UNESCO-a

Croatian National Committee for UNESCO Global Geoparks



REPORT OF THE CROATIAN COMMITTEE FOR UNESCO GLOBAL GEOPARKS_2022

- Relevant government body in the Republic of Croatia in charge of relations with UNESCO for cultural heritage is the Ministry of Culture and for natural heritage is the Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development.
- The Croatian Committee for UNESCO Global Geoparks was formed under the auspices of the Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development in close cooperation with Croatian Commission for UNESCO in September 2017.
- At the moment there are 10 members in the Croatian Committee appointed by Minister:

1. Igor Kreitmeyer, Nature Protection Directorate, Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development, president

- 2. Josip Hren, Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development
- 3. Goran Pavić, Papuk UGG

Zagreb, 8th March, 2023.

- 4. Dražen Balen, Earth Science University, Departments of Geology
- 5. Neven Bočić, Earth Science University, Departments of Geography
- 6. Bruno Tomljenović, Earth Science University, Departments of Engineering geology
- 7. Jasenka Sremac, Earth Science University, Departments of Paleontology
- 8. Josip Belamarić, representative of the national cultural heritage body

9. Irina Žeger Pleše, Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development, Croatian Agency for Environment and Nature

10. Lana Schmidt, Vis archipelago UGG, and coordinator of Croatian Committee, Danijela Bokarica, Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development.

Main topics of the meeting of the Croatian Committee for UNESCO Global Geoparks were:

- 1. The Biokovo-Imotski Lakes aUGGp Deferred decision for aspiring UNESCO Global Geoparks.
 - study of the five recommendations given by UNESCO Global Geoparks Council.
- 2. Geopark Vis archipelago preparation for revalidation process which was held from 23 $^{\rm th}$ June 27 $^{\rm th}$ June 2022.

President of the Croatian Committee for UNESCO Global Geoparks