New territories added – UNESCO Global Geoparks

The UNESCO Executive Board during it’s 126 session on April 17th 2019 unanimously endorsed the decisions made by the UNESCO Global Geoparks Council during its third session in Adamello Brenta UNESCO Global Geopark, in Italy , last September and eight territories demonstrating the great diversity of our planet’s geology have received the UNESCO Global Geopark label. Thus from April 17th 2019 there are 147 UNESCO Global Geoparks in 41 countries!

The new UNESCO Global Geoparks are:

• Colca  y  Volcanes  de  Andagua,  Peru

• Courel Mountains, Spain

• Imbabura, Ecuador  

• Jiuhuashan, China 

• Kütralkura, Chile    

• Trollfjell, Norway

• Vis Archipelago, Croatia

• Yimengshan, China


Read the official Press Release from UNESCO